Special petitions

What we do
Our services

DACA is a policy that protects young people, known as “DREAMers”, who entered the United States unlawfully as children. The program does not grant them official legal status or a pathway to citizenship, but it does allow them to apply for a driver’s license, social security number, and work permit.


  1. Under the age of 31 as of June 15, 2012.
  2. Arrived in the U.S. before age 16.
  3. Continuously resided in the U.S. since June 15, 2007, up to the present (be aware of time spent outside the US that was not “brief, casual, or innocent”).
  4. Physically present in the United States on June 15, 2012, and at the time of making your request for consideration of deferred action.
  5. Entered without inspection before June 15, 2012, or your lawful immigration status expired as of June 15, 2012.
  6. Are currently in school, have graduated or obtained a Certificate of Completion from high school, have obtained a GED, or are an honorably discharged veteran of the Coast Guard or U.S. armed forces; and
  7. Have not been convicted of a felony, a significant misdemeanor, or three or more other misdemeanors, and do not otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety.

*If all requirements are met, you may apply for DACA at 15 years of age*

Renewal Requirements:

  1. Initial DACA requirements must still be met.
  2. Have not departed the United State on or after August 15, 2012, without advance parole
  3. Have continuously resided in the United States since your most recent DACA request was approved.

T nonimmigrant status is a temporary immigration benefit that enables certain victims of a severe form of trafficking in persons) to remain in the United States for an initial period of up to 4 years if they have complied with any reasonable request for assistance from law enforcement in the detection, investigation, or prosecution of human trafficking or qualify for an exemption or exception. T nonimmigrant status is also available to certain qualifying family members of trafficking victims.

Under federal law, a “severe form of trafficking in persons” is:

- Sex trafficking: When someone recruits, harbors, transports, provides, solicits, patronizes, or obtains a person for the purpose of a commercial sex act, where the commercial sex act is induced by force, fraud, or coercion, or the person being induced to perform such act is under 18 years of age; or

- Labor trafficking: When someone recruits, harbors, transports, provides, or obtains a person for labor or services through the use of force, fraud, or coercion for the purpose of involuntary servitude, peonage, debt bondage, or slavery.

Temporary Protected Status is a program that offers a temporary legal status to certain immigrants in the United States who cannot return to their country due to ongoing armed conflict, natural disaster, or other extraordinary reasons. Once granted TPS, beneficiaries are not removable from the United States, and they may obtain employment authorization and travel authorization.

TPS is a temporary benefit that does not lead to lawful permanent resident status or give any other immigration status. However, registration for TPS does not prevent you from:
- Applying for nonimmigrant status
- Filing for adjustment of status based on an immigrant petition
- Applying for any other immigration benefit or protection for which you may be eligible

U visa status is a special category of visa set aside by Congress specifically for nonimmigrant victims of certain categories of crime. The purpose of the U visa is to encourage victims of crime to help law enforcement investigate and prosecute crimes without the fear of being deported. The U visa does not cover all crimes, but it does include domestic violence, stalking, sexual assault, and felony assault, among other crimes. If your U visa is approved, you are eligible for temporary immigration status, employment (work) authorization, and the possibility of obtaining permanent residence.